Local Scene Nigeria — 08 September 2013


For the first time since 2010, Kano Pillars have been crowned the Champions of the DSTV Premier Basketball League after emerging as champions in the final four competition held at the indoor sports hall of the National Stadium in Lagos over the weekend. Despite seeing their 32 games unbeaten streak come to an end in a close 71-76 loss to Mark Mentors on Friday night, the pre-tournament favorites, regrouped to defeat Union Bank on Saturday night 86-75 to win the title. Nigerian International Abubakar Usman was named the finals MVP finishing with 31 points, 5 assists and 5 rebounds, while Dele Ademola finished with a double double of 13 points and 11 rebounds. Williams Ndoumbe notched up 20 points for Union Bank. Kano Pillars and Union Bank will now represent Nigeria at the upcoming Continental games.



About Author


(0) Readers Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>